Two Scientists Win Nobel Prize in Physics for Ultra-Thin Material

Andre K. Geim and Konstantin S. Novoselov, winners of Nobel Prize in Physics. Photos by University of Manchester, via Associated Press

The 2010 Nobel Prize for Physics was won by two scientists for their work on a revolutionary ultra-thin material called graphene, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced.

The breakthrough has implications for areas from quantum physics to consumer electronics.

Andre K. Geim and Konstantin S. Novoselov, both scientists at the University of Manchester in England, shared the award for their development of a form of carbon that is only one atom thick.

In their announcement of the prize, the Academy said that “carbon in such a flat form has exceptional properties that originate from the remarkable world of quantum physics.”

Read more at and New York Times.

Leave a reply